Skip to content

National Disability Insurance Scheme

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a new way of providing people with disability, their families and carers with:

  • connections to their community
  • supports and services.
  • The NDIS began trials around Australia in July 2013.

    WA had two trial sites, including:

  • one run by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA)
  • one run by the WA Government Department of Communities – Disability Services.
  • From 1 July 2016, the rollout of the NDIS began across Australia. On 1 February 2017, the WA Government and the Commonwealth Government announced they had made an agreement to move to a locally managed NDIS.

    After the election in March 2017, the new WA Government committed to reviewing this decision. It made plans to talk to people with disability, their families and the disability sector about its decision.

    On 12 December 2017, the Commonwealth and WA governments announced that Western Australia:

  • will join the nationally delivered NDIS
  • won’t continue with the locally managed NDIS.
  • People who already registered with NDIS in WA started transferring to the national NDIS from April 2018. This was due to finish by December 2018, however, it has been extended. The WA Government will contact people transferring from the WA NDIS to the nationally delivered scheme and tell them what steps they need to take.

    The NDIS will roll out based on where people are located. It will be fully rolled out across WA by 2020.

    For more information about moving to the NDIS, you can visit the NDIS website.

    The WA Department of Communities Disability Services website also has information about the NDIS.

    All contents ©2023 WAiS WA’s Individualised Services. All rights reserved.